The Arrogance of Christian Guilt.

I read a lot of Christians on social media who speak about guilt that they carry around over their past transgressions.

Firstly, let me say: I’ve been there.  It’s hard not to be when Facebook has you constantly interacting with people you haven’t had a real world relationship with in decades; people who only know you as who you were, not who you’ve become.  When those old memories get churned up, it’s pretty easy to fall into a pattern of guilt and regret.

But the reality is that I’m not the same insecure, arrogant, punk that I was in 1985.  I have been shaped by love and by hate, by triumph and tragedy, just like everyone else.  And I have been forgiven.  Even more importantly, God himself does not remember these things.

Scripture says poetically that He has thrown our sins into the depths of the sea.

So if almighty God has forgiven, and forgotten my sin, who am I to keep my own record?  Who am I to keep judging myself, when the sentence has already been served?

Although most of us don’t think of it this way, it takes a special kind of arrogance for us to hold onto these things.  The selfishness that comes from our self-pity causes us to put our own guilty feelings above the power of God’s grace.

I pray that I can become self-aware enough not to wallow in the arrogance of guilt.

Tagged , ,
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,066 other followers

